And one more thing that makes me mad

I’m playing “grumpy old guy” today – sorry.  But this stuff has got to stop.  Got to.  I’m begging you, all you hip musicians with your complicated shoes: stop doing ironic folk covers of rap and pop hits from yesteryear.  The first time I heard one it was mildly amusing.  The hundredth time, I could feel all the funny being sucked out of my life.  Thanks for ruining my weekend, you Sir Mix-A-Lot-covering DOUCHEBAG.

5 Responses to And one more thing that makes me mad

  1. Shae says:

    THANK YOU. This has not been cool since Dynamite Hack’s Boyz in the Hood, which was awesome.

  2. beetqueen says:

    I do have to agree that Dynamite Hack’s Boyz in the Hood was awesome, but the world needed one and only one of these. It was done. It was done well and that was it!

  3. themcp says:

    To be fair to Jonathan Coulton… that was a live set. I think it’s one thing to toss in something like that as a way to break up your set and keep the crowd involved… and quite another thing to release it on an album as your staggering moment of comedic genius.

    I still think Coulton is a mildly nifty novelty act. You should listen to Merry Christmas From Chiron Beta Prime. And of course, the theme song from the Portal game.

  4. I’m fine with him in principle. But I’m sorry, this wacky-covers-of-rap-songs thing has to stop – live, album, or even in your home by yourself performed whisper-quiet to no one but yourself and the voices in your head. It has completely lost its capacity to amuse.

  5. Ryan says:

    As long as it applies to ironic folk, I’m okay. The Leisure Kings do a wonderful version of “Gin and Juice” (with full horn section!) that unlocks a Sinatra-esque swagger not present in the original song.

Leave a Reply

