Revisiting a remix

Diane,

First of all: sorry for my inattentiveness to this blog.  I wish I could say I was going to change, but I’m not.  In fact, there’s a good chance I’m going to retire from this pursuit of mine.  Not that I’ve said all I have to say about every trivial damn thing in the world – quite the contrary! – but I blog too intermittently and of various quality to keep this place well-tended and -trafficked.  If I close up shop, you’ll be the first (and judging by my visitor stats, the only) person to know.

Now down to it.  I thought it would be fun today to revisit my last major creative project, “The Good, The Bad & The Remixed.” Yeah, that reggae/spaghetti Western mashup thing.  Part of the fun of that was knowing that I could never legally or morally try to make a cent off it, so I wanted to give it away and see if it would spread at all – but I did little to promote it really.  I think the entirety of my promotional efforts included: 1) blogging about it here with a download link; 2) posting about it on a couple forums (one devoted to spaghetti Westerns and the other about dancehall and reggae); and 3) sent it to an online acquaintance who runs a reggae review site, and was kind enough to write it up for me.

Digging into it today, I found that it did spread.  Not exactly like wildfire, but it is a pretty specialty taste – a mix of Morricone (critically well-regarded, but even his classic soundtracks don’t exactly fly off the shelves) and Sizzla (an artist only marginally known outside of Jamaica and the UK).  If you stuff those two into a Venn diagram to represent what group of people would have a pre-existing interest in both, it looks like this:

Still, hope springs eternal, and Googling your own shit is cheap and easy.  So I Googled away.  And look!

A blog, which says: “With a palette of the entire history of recorded sound, it still amazes me how many people choose to plagiarise the same old stuff… but fortunately there are still some exceptions.”  That’s right, motherfuckers, I plagiarized something completely different.

Another blog, whose writer is kind enough to get briefly into the shared history between Westerns and reggae (it does exist, I swear), and to comment very kindly, “The cuts of ‘Represent’ and ‘Rise To The Occation’ [sic] are pure genius.”

Another blog, which pronounces it “weird and original” and even links up a sample track so you can hear it before downloading.  I’m pretty sure I was too lazy to do that, and even if I wasn’t, I’m too lazy to go back and check.

Yet another blog, who says the project is “fully leftfield.”  Stern but fair.

Also this blog.

And this one.  The writer opens with a quote from the Reggae Reviews review, but adds, “This one is crazzzzy…wicked wicked wicked remixes, this one is ah must have…tek ah slice and listen.  Big up Dale Cooper & Kalonji!!”  That’s in actual patois.  Honestly, I’m fucking touched.  Sniff.

One more blog, who didn’t comment but color-coded the text into red, gold and green.  Good enough!

Two more blogs – in Spanish and Portuguese.  ¡Internacional!

This site (ReggaeTopSite.com) which actually added the remix to their album download list.

A music forum, in what appears to be… Hungarian?  Is that what “.hu” means?

A YouTube channel.  Soon I’m gonna be raking in that “Chocolate Rain” money.

Plus I’ve now, basically at random, run into two reggae enthusiasts online who had heard and liked (or semi-liked) the remix – one of whom is the unstoppable Achis, who I’m pretty sure blogs in real time, exactly as fast as a normal person talks.  (There’s no other explanation for the quantity and length of posts he puts out.)

Anyway I am quite grateful to have seen this thing move around a little bit, and one day perhaps I’ll get off my lazy ass and do another one.  But not before that death metal album my friend Sweaty B has been bugging me about.

4 Responses to Revisiting a remix

  1. Shae says:

    You forgot that yellow circle off to the left, for those of us who generally enjoy weird stuff and were willing and pleasantly surprised.

    By the way, I’m glad to see “Is your ex over you?” linked as a related post. That was helpful.

  2. Ryan says:

    1. This was a very good and well-executed project.
    2. Damn right I’m bugging you over it. Let’s go!

  3. naiduk says:

    Dude, I’m the youtube channel that posted two tracks off the mash up! I got it from your friend’s site (Reggae-Reviews) in 2008. It is an album that says on CONSTANT rotation! thank you for using your talent and ear for music … Sizzla’s vocals over the western spag. beats was..is..remains.. ingenius.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

